Schedule of Services

February 2017 – June 2017

We have at least two Divine Liturgies a month, and sometimes more. On the other weekends we offer morning prayer services called Reader's Orthros and Typika.

We also have evening prayer services on Wednesday and Friday. Through prayer we carry one another’s burdens as the church, the family of God. Also, prayer helps to sanctify your soul.

Our phone number at St. John the Theologian is (573) 332-1028.

 

 

Friday, February 10

Evening Prayers: Reader’s Compline & Akathist, 6:30 pm

Saturday, February 11

Great Vespers, 5:00 pm

Sunday, February 12 (Prodigal Son)

Pre-Communion Prayers, 7:55 am

Orthros, 8:15 am

Divine Liturgy, 9:30 am

Wednesday, February 15

Evening Prayers: Reader's Vespers, 6:30 pm

Friday, February 17

Evening Prayers: Reader’s Compline & Akathist, 6:30 pm

Saturday, February 18

Great Vespers, 5:00 pm

Sunday, February 19 (Last Judgment)

Pre-Communion Prayers, 7:55 am

Orthros, 8:15 am

Divine Liturgy, 9:30 am

Wednesday, February 22

Evening Prayers: Reader's Vespers, 6:30 pm

Friday, February 24

Evening Prayers: Reader’s Compline & Akathist, 6:30 pm

Sunday, February 26 (Forgiveness Sunday)

Morning Prayers: Reader's Orthros, 8:45 am

Typika, 10:00 am

Monday, February 27

Great and Holy Lent Begins

 

 

Wednesday, March 1

Evening Prayers: Reader's Vespers, 6:30 pm

Saturday, March 4

Great Vespers, 5:00 pm

Friday, March 3

Evening Prayers: Reader’s Compline & Akathist, 6:30 pm

Sunday, March 5 (Sunday of Orthodoxy)

Pre-Communion Prayers, 7:55 am

Orthros, 8:15 am

Divine Liturgy, 9:30 am

Wednesday, March 8

Evening Prayers: Reader's Vespers, 6:30 pm

Friday, March 10

Evening Prayers: Reader’s Compline & Akathist, 6:30 pm

Sunday, March 12 (St. Gregory Palamas)

Morning Prayers: Reader's Orthros, 8:45 am

Typika, 10:00 am

Friday, March 17

Evening Prayers: Reader’s Compline & Akathist, 6:30 pm

Saturday, March 18

Great Vespers, 5:00 pm

Sunday, March 19 (Holy Cross)

Pre-Communion Prayers, 7:55 am

Orthros, 8:15 am

Divine Liturgy, 9:30 am

Wednesday, March 22

Evening Prayers: Reader's Vespers, 6:30 pm

Friday, March 24

Evening Prayers: Reader’s Compline & Akathist, 6:30 pm

Sunday, March 26 (St. John Climacus)

Morning Prayers: Reader's Orthros, 8:45 am

Typika, 10:00 am

Wednesday, March 29

Evening Prayers: Reader's Vespers, 6:30 pm

Friday, March 31

Evening Prayers: Reader’s Compline & Akathist, 6:30 pm

 

 

Saturday, April 1

Great Vespers, 5:00 pm

Sunday, April 2 (St. Mary of Egypt)

Pre-Communion Prayers, 7:55 am

Orthros, 8:15 am

Divine Liturgy, 9:30 am

Wednesday, April 5

Evening Prayers: Reader's Vespers, 6:30 pm

Friday, April 7

Evening Prayers: Reader’s Compline & Akathist, 6:30 pm

Sunday, April 9 (Palm Sunday)

Morning Prayers: Reader's Orthros, 8:45 am

Typika, 10:00 am

Wednesday, April 12

Evening Prayers: Reader's Vespers, 6:30 pm

Thursday, April 13 – Holy Thursday

Orthros of Great and Holy Friday (12 Passion Gospels), 6:30 pm

Friday, April 14 – Holy Friday

Royal Hours and Typika, 8:30 am

(Decorating of the Epitaphios) 10:30 am

(Cleaning up the Church for Pascha, 10:30 – 11:30)

Taking down from the Cross, 3:00 pm

Orthros and Lamentations, 6:30 pm

(All young girls are invited to serve as myrrh bears. Please wear white dresses or white skirts, blouses, and shoes.)

Saturday, April 15 – Holy Saturday

Vesperal Divine Liturgy, 9:00 am

Midnight Office, 10:30 pm

Pascha Orthros, 11:00 pm

Divine Liturgy (shortly after midnight)

(Break bread in the fellowship room and break the fast!)

Sunday, April 16 (Holy Pascha)

Agape Vespers, 11:00 am

Wednesday, April 19

Evening Prayers: Reader's Vespers, 6:30 pm

Friday, April 21

Evening Prayers: Reader’s Compline & Akathist, 6:30 pm

Sunday, April 23 (St. Thomas)

Morning Prayers: Reader's Orthros, 8:45 am

Typika, 10:00 am

Wednesday, April 26

Evening Prayers: Reader's Vespers, 6:30 pm

Friday, April 28

Evening Prayers: Reader’s Compline & Akathist, 6:30 pm

Sunday, April 30 (Myrrh-Bearing Women)

Morning Prayers: Reader's Orthros, 8:45 am

Typika, 10:00 am

 

 

Wednesday, May 3

Evening Prayers: Reader's Vespers, 6:30 pm

Friday, May 5

Evening Prayers: Reader’s Compline & Akathist, 6:30 pm

Saturday, May 6

Great Vespers, 5:00 pm

Sunday, May 7 (Paralytic)

Pre-Communion Prayers, 7:55 am

Orthros, 8:15 am

Divine Liturgy, 9:30 am

Wednesday, May 10

Evening Prayers: Reader's Vespers, 6:30 pm

Friday, May 12

Evening Prayers: Reader’s Compline & Akathist, 6:30 pm

Sunday, May 14 (Samaritan Woman)

Morning Prayers: Reader's Orthros, 8:45 am

Typika, 10:00 am

Wednesday, May 17

Evening Prayers: Reader's Vespers, 6:30 pm

Friday, May 19

Evening Prayers: Reader’s Compline & Akathist, 6:30 pm

Saturday, May 20

Great Vespers, 5:00 pm

Sunday, May 21 (Blind Man)

Pre-Communion Prayers, 7:55 am

Orthros, 8:15 am

Divine Liturgy, 9:30 am

Wednesday, May 24

Evening Prayers: Reader's Vespers, 6:30 pm

Friday, May 26

Evening Prayers: Reader’s Compline & Akathist, 6:30 pm

Sunday, May 28 (1st Ecumenical Council)

Morning Prayers: Reader's Orthros, 8:45 am

Typika, 10:00 am

Wednesday, May 31

Evening Prayers: Reader's Vespers, 6:30 pm

 

 

Friday, June 2

Evening Prayers: Reader’s Compline & Akathist, 6:30 pm

Saturday, June 3

Great Vespers, 5:00 pm

Sunday, June 4 (Pentecost)

Pre-Communion Prayers, 7:55 am

Orthros, 8:15 am

Divine Liturgy, 9:30 am

Wednesday, June 7

Evening Prayers: Reader's Vespers, 6:30 pm

Friday, June 9

Evening Prayers: Reader’s Compline & Akathist, 6:30 pm

Sunday, June 11 (All Saints)

Morning Prayers: Reader's Orthros, 8:45 am

Typika, 10:00 am

Monday, June 12

Beginning of the Apostles Fast

Wednesday, June 14

Evening Prayers: Reader's Vespers, 6:30 pm

Friday, June 16

Evening Prayers: Reader’s Compline & Akathist, 6:30 pm

Saturday, June 17

Great Vespers, 5:00 pm

Sunday, June 18

Pre-Communion Prayers, 7:55 am

Orthros, 8:15 am

Divine Liturgy, 9:30 am

Wednesday, June 21

Evening Prayers: Reader's Vespers, 6:30 pm

Friday, June 23

Evening Prayers: Reader’s Compline & Akathist, 6:30 pm

Sunday, June 25

Morning Prayers: Reader's Orthros, 8:45 am

Typika, 10:00 am

Wednesday, June 28

Evening Prayers: Reader's Vespers, 6:30 pm

Friday, June 30

Evening Prayers: Reader’s Compline & Akathist, 6:30 pm